Day 4: “To Travel is to live”– H.C. Andersen

After having such a late night, I managed to wake up at noon (fail). Given that I had such a late start, I just decided to go to Statens Museum for Kunst, just down the street from the kollegium. I stayed until closing and managed to see almost everything there, and believe me when I say that there is a lot to get through in the two buildings. It’s always fun to watch tourists get scared when the automatic doors open leading to a bridge to the newer building. They shy away, walking in the other direction instead of taking the risk to see what’s on the other side.
I think my favorite painting this time around is of 4 young Norwegians sitting in a boat in the middle of a lake on midsummer evening. It’s quite a big painting, and when I step back to look at it, I get chills, since it looks so real, with the surroundings really showing in the lake’s reflection.
Of note is an exhibit on Danish mentality on various subjects, one of them being on travel. The quote that I got for this entry’s title comes from that exhibit.
Afterwards, I walked through the park with a strong craving for something fresh (I think I’ve been eating too much rugbrød with havarti), so I walked over to one of the many immigrant-owned grocery stores by the lakes. I wish I lived closer to one when I was here, because you really do get a wider variety of produce for cheaper, especially when the owners get to know you–they start giving you discounts all the time.

Day4_3.JPG
View outside some of the windows from the new building at Statens Museum for Kunst.

photo.JPG
The new building, seen from the park.

Day4_8.JPG
Another pond in the park.

Day4_10.JPG
Swan family. Ahhh–swan babies! (ducklings?)
Which reminds me: I saw a male duck chase after 3 different female ducks, who all got away in differs forms (the first waddled away, the second swam away, and the third flew away).

I went back and hung around, unintentionally napping from 6:30 to 8. Grr, jet-lag.

It was a really quiet night–a bit disappointing to me, but I had to remember that we partied until late the night before, and half the kids in the kollegium aren’t done with final exams yet.
I got to talk to Sabrina, though, and I found out that she is a veterinarian major (you can do that here), about to defend her thesis for her bachelors, which is surprising to me, because you only defend for your bachelors if you’re an honors student–at least in my experience.
She talked about politics with me and how many of the Danish ways of thinking and how a lot of the red tape in her country is really stupid, which I agree with, like how many people come in with higher-level degrees (doctors and other professionals), but because they’re foreign, they are resigned to open pizza shops and grocery stores, drive taxis, etc. Sounds familiar, eh? She made a good point that it’s a waste of human resources in the country.
And she, like some of the other Danish students, proceeded to tell me what she finds frustrating about my country and people (Amurrrca, I’m looking at you). I love sharing my viewpoints with international students, and reassuring them that we’re all not super religious, conservative kooks 😀

Leave a Reply

