Spring 2011

Week 1: I got back to San Diego on Monday evening (tried to hold out my vacation as long as possible). Like I said before, I thought this quarter was going to be really free, but right from the get-go I was super busy. Liyin and I both got Groupon certificates a while back for a month’s worth of Bikram Yoga for $30. I went pretty consistently for the first 2.5 weeks, and then school started to creep up on me. Ed came for a visit this week, so we all went to to PB for wings and frozen yogurt.

_DSC0950

Week 2: I started OAT classes this week. This on top of my schedule of school, volunteering, and yoga was super overwhelming. I spent that Sunday studying at a tea shop with my roommate and my good friend, Frank. He took us to a Sushi place in Hillcrest afterward.

Week 27

Week 3: Not much really happened this week. I think my first lab report was due around this time, leaving me super stressed. That weekend, I went up with my friends to Oxnard to celebrate Tibbs’ birthday. The whole gang was there–everyone that I used to hang out with in San Diego that was either on the team or associated with the team. It was just like old times, especially since Tim and Chelsea were back in California on break from their Peace Corps mission in Guyana for the month. It was SO NICE to see everyone! However, seeing the gang only made me realize that I miss them MUCH more than I thought I did. It also made me realize how lucky/blessed I am to know such awesome people.

_DSC0993
I love these people.

Week 4: I had a midterm in my lab class, and I got owned hard. D: On Saturday, I went up to check out SCCO (Southern California College of Optometry) with the optometry club from my school. The students here sold themselves well, and now my heart is rather set on going to this school. After the Open House, we drove down to Irvine for some grub. We ended up getting purikura made of our silly selves. These kids are great 😀
Sunday was Easter, so I went out with practically the entire UTC Chuao staff and co. to get brunch at a cute little chocolate cafe in Hillcrest. CHOCOLATE COVERED BACON–need I say more?

_DSC1238
Ridiculously huge shaved ice.

_DSC1257
Tabasco and chipotle bloody mary garnished with a strip of chocolate covered bacon.

Week 5: This week was also pretty dead. I did, however, have another lab report due the following week. Friday, I watched “Sunset Boulevard” (btw, now it’s one of my most favorite films ever) and made a fig, Gorgonzola, and prosciutto pizza. I went to “Five Guys” for burgers with my flatmates–it was just us three girls, since Richard was doing UCDC and Jason went home for the weekend. We perused the nearby bookstore, each purchasing a book (it was the last day of my B&N membership–lucky me!). Sunday, we were going to have Brazilian food for lunch. The special buffet deal was not in effect on the weekends, so we walked over to Hodad’s. Tasty burgers and uber rich malts. So worth it, though. We went shopping for a bit at Horton Plaza after.

_DSC1287
Topped with asiago cheese.

Week 6: Liyin’s siblings came to visit. She took her brothers and me to La Jolla Cove, that afternoon, and then dropped me off at Chuao to study a bit.

_DSC1326

_DSC1336

Week 7: At the office, I found out that I’d be hired to work there, starting this summer!!! I was so happy to find out this great news. This was Will’s last week in the office. The three of us went out to lunch at a hole in the wall Mexican seafood restaurant on Clairemont Mesa. They have some amazing ceviche!!!
Liyin flew up to Cal that weekend, to watch her sister graduate. Cat and I got up super early to take her to the airport. We had breakfast downtown at Cafe 222, afterward. I got a text later in the day from Liyin, who was a little miffed that she could have stayed home to watch her sister’s graduation, which was streaming online. I justified her visit in the name of family photos. She had a blast that weekend, anyway.
I helped assist my friend in taking senior photos of Frank to commemorate his (our) upcoming graduation. Took Frank, Hoang, and Teddy out for Mexican seafood afterward 😀

_DSC1379

_DSC1480

Week 8: I, very proudly, drove on the highway alone–for the first time ever–to pick Liyin up from the Solana Beach train station. That was a 30-40 minute drive North. A big feat for me, if you will. This was the last week of OAT classes for me–somewhat sad and somewhat a relief, since I was feeling the pressure of all my responsibilities pressing down on me.
That weekend, I flew across the nation to see Richard in D.C. We had a blast catching up. He made me walk a lot (3 miles on the first night, after only 2 hours of sleep and a whole day spent flying to get there), so I gave him a lot of crap for it. I went to D.C. as an eighth grader, but going as a person in her early 20s was different–I was more appreciative of what I was seeing, though I must say the freedom to go and do as I please was a plus. I saw a lot more of D.C. than I did on my eighth grade tour of the city and its surrounding areas. I’d love to live in this city for a while–there’s a hustle and bustle to it I like, coupled with the fact that everyone here looks super polished all the time. Women here wear lots of skirts and dresses, and I LOVE it!!! It makes me want to wear more skirts and dresses.
Friday: We walked from Richard’s apartment to the Columbia Heights area to pick some stuff up for me, and then down many blocks to get food at Ben’s Chili Bowl. That night, we saw one half of the Mall, starting with the White House –> National World War II Monument –> Lincoln Memorial –> Vietnam War Memorial
Saturday: National Gallery –> Good Stuff Eatery –> Walk around the Capitol, where Richard napped. Some things don’t change. Went to Georgetown in the afternoon for some shopping and cupcakes. Such a cute (and crowded) little college town :3 Went back to his place to clean up, and then went out to try Ethiopian food!
Sunday: Eastern Market –> Smithsonian Museum –> Georgetown –> A really cool falafel shop with a super nice Turkish owner –> Trader Joe’s –> back to Richard’s apartment, where I was a brat that rested up while he made us pizza. Tried to complete my hw for school, that night. Half succeeded.
Monday: Followed Richard to work, where he showed me around and then we said good-bye, as he had work that morning. I wandered around the building (passed by the offices of Boehner, Ron Paul, Giffords, and Pelosi). I walked over to the Library of Congress and hung out there for a good 45 min. Made my way back to the UCDC Center and prepared for my flights home.

_DSC1553

_DSC1586

_DSC1658
Typical.

_DSC1720

_DSC1772

_DSC1776

Week 9: Recuperated from my weekend away. It was tiring, but certainly a welcomed change of pace from life in SD. Friday: Looked at adorable cats and kittens at PetSmart with Cat. Watched “The Hangover II” with friends Friday night. That was ridiculous. I studied nearly all of Saturday and Sunday.

Week 10: Final lab report and 3 finals COMPLETED! I was officially done with my college career Thursday evening. Drank and walked over to the theater to watch Thor in 3D with the roommates. First time 3D glasses successfully worked for me. Loved Thor, btw. Probably because I recognize some of the Nordic Mythology references (I took a class on it…). Friday: Last day of cardio kickboxing with Liz, and then work. Justine’s last day at the office : gym –> shower and enlist flatmates to help me make Cream Cheese Stuffed Jalapenos, and Feta-stuffed dates, both with bacon wrapped around –> was too late to original BBQ/banquet (it ended abnormally early) –> went to another BBQ instead. Had a blast, met some great new people. It was an awesome day regardless of the hiccups.

Leave a Reply

