Needs some flair.

I spent part of last night decorating the walls of my bedroom. I brought to school a huge stack of postcards that I collected throughout my stay/travels in Europe. My walls are still kind of bare, but this is a start (and it took me a while to get all 48 postcards up). Most of my favorite ones are arranged by my bed.

IMG_8398
The bulk of the postcards. Tried to be somewhat random with its arrangement. In the beginning, it was supposed to be arranged by geographical origin of the postcard (Russia on the top right side, the Netherlands and England on the mid-/bottom left side, etc.), but that all went out the window when I decided to include non-photographic postcards on that wall.

IMG_8392
Miffy sleeping, right above where I normally lay my head :]
L-R: Jul i Tivoli postcard/ad, postcard from Museu Nacional D’Art de Catalunya in Barcelona; postcard of one of the rooms at the Ice Hotel in Jukkasjärvi (Sweden); "On the Waves of Love" by Edward Munch, from the Munch Museum in Oslo (Norway); "The Symposium of Plato, Orpheus and Eurydice" by Anselm Feuerbach, one of my favorite painters (I bought this postcard at the Alte Nationalgalerie in Berlin); bought at Louisiana Museum of Modern Art in Humlebaek, Denmark–one of my favorite museums, especially when the weather is nice (It’s a picture of light refracting from a clear cup filled with some drink); a painting from the Danish Golden Age of art, "Autumn Morning on Lake Sortedam" by Christen Kobke (postcard from the Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek); a pretty postcard of Amsterdam.

Leave a Reply

